Blog

Not Quite A Year Later and It’s Not All Doom and Gloom

I think it was yesterday that for some reason this blog suddenly popped into my head. It’s about time I updated it and I thought it would be a good idea to do a slight follow up to my last post; Channel 4 Goes Mad.

For those who have not yet read that post, it was a review of the first of a series of programmes Channel 4 did on mental health, particularly focusing on depression and OCD and then my own personal experiences of depression.

Since then, a lot has changed. I have managed to find the right medication that works for me and doesn’t give me terrible side effects and that has helped so much in taking away the dark clouds that used to hang over me and prevent me from thinking in a more rational way.

There have been points where I have found it difficult though. After failing to get the funding I hoped for in order to do my postgraduate degree, I decided to return home and work for a year. Such a change would be difficult for anyone to initially adjust to and I was lucky to start a job within a week of moving home. I have been extremely grateful to have got work as quickly as it prevented me from being sat at home and dwelling on my fears of relapsing into another period of depression and focus on being positive through being productive.

Back then, I would never have thought I would be in the more positive and motivated position I am in now, so I do my best to remember how much has changed.

Looking back on how I was then and how things are today, the only advice I can share is not to give up hope. No matter how dark things get, just reach the next day and see what happens. You never know, it might just be the start of things getting better.

Leave a Reply

